Fitzroy Primary School was officially opened in 1855, and has served the community proudly since then.
Fitzroy Primary School, serving the local and broader community as an inner city school since 1855, is a co-educational state primary school for students from Foundation to Year 6. Situated in the heart of Fitzroy, 5kms north of Melbourne’s CBD, the school includes a mixture of historical buildings and state of the art facilities, it also boasts expansive play areas.
Fitzroy Primary School was originally known as George Street School No. 450, and has a long and proud history of catering for local families and the wider community. Our connection to the community is as strong today as it was more than 150 years ago.
The first school was opened in 1841. Hugh Templeton opened a private school in the Presbyterian Chapel in Napier Street. He then moved to Johnston Street where the school was known as the Collingwood Commercial Academy. He built a school on the comer of Greeves Street and George Street which opened on 1 October 1855 and was called the North Collingwood National School. Under the Board of Education from 1862, it became Collingwood Common School No. 450.
The Education Department took over Common School No. 450, renting the building which was on land owned by Hugh Templeton’s son, Thomas. In 1874 a new building was constructed on land bought by the Department for £1800. The architect was Henry Bastow, Chief Architect for the Education Department. Caretaker’s quarters were constructed in 1888, and extra land acquired for playground space in 1914 and 1961. A new infants’ school on Napier St was completed in 1970. This building was then refurbished in 2010 as part of the Federal Government’s Building the Education Revolution Program and now houses modern and contemporary learning spaces. The school facilities now include a mixture of historical buildings and state of the art facilities, it also boasts expansive play areas.